Languages of Finland

Languages spoken in Finland

Although our population is quite small, Finland has three official languages: Finnish, Swedish and Sámi.
National Library of Finland saves texts and data in all national languages. Following this link you can find our current collection plan for online materials 2021-2024. Twitter is a valuable source of data with continuous flow of texts, images and videos coming from multiple cultural groups. Trying to find new online resources presents some difficulties with so many language variations across state borders.

Twitter and language recognition

Twitter provides content on many different levels. Tweets are a steady flow of contemporary language snippets and popular topics of cultural communities. Twitter API gives structural information about tweets and their origin in JSON format.

Institutions and projects for culture and languages in Finland

Twitter and related resources

This page is updated by Kaisa Kaunonen, an IT systems specialist currently working at the Research Library department of The National Library of Finland